Sweden | Shopping | Food & Drinks | Amusement Parks | Temples | Palaces | Gardens | Itinerary | Tour Packages | Climate | Festivals & Events | Transport | Money | Safety | Culture | Business | Education | Healthcare | Restaurants | Flights | Accommodation | Cruises & Ferry | Cars

About Sweden

Sweden is a country located in Europe (Photo by S-F / Shutterstock.com). It was founded in 1397.

Sweden Travel Guide

This local travel guide below will provide you with travel information & tips to plan your trip to Sweden and find the best things to see, do and experience in Sweden even  before you arrive here.

 

Map

Facts

History [Founded in 1397] • Capital [Stockholm] • Government [Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy ] • Currency [Swedish Krona (SEK)] • Language [Swedish(Official), English] • Religion [theist] • Electricity [230V/50Hz (European plug)] • Time Zone [UTC + 1h] • Country Code [+46] • Internet TLD [.se] • Emergencies [Dial 112]

Climate

Events, Festivals and Holiday

January

– New Year’s Day, January 1, Fri
– Epiphany, January 6, Wed

March

– Good Friday, March 25, Fri
– Easter Monday, March 28, Mon

May

– Labour day, May 1, Sun
– Ascension Day, May 5, Thu

June

– National Day, June 6, Mon
– Midsummer Eve, June 24, Fri
– Midsummer Day, June 25, Sat

November

– All Saints Day, November 1, Tue

December

– Christmas Day Eve, December 24, Sat
– Christmas Day, December 25, Sun
– Second Day of Christmas, December 26, Mon
– New Year’s Eve, December 31, Sat

Tipping

Hotel –  No tipping expected.
Restaurant – 5%-10% of the bill.
Tour Guide – No tipping expected.
Taxi Driver – Fare will be rounded up.
Spas – No tipping expected.

Money & Duty Free

Currency

Swedish Krona: SEK with symbol: kr = 100 öre
Swedish Krona Notes denominations (€):20, 50, 100, 500, 1000
Swedish Krona Coin denominations(€): 1, 2, 5, 10

Credit cards

MasterCard and Visa are widely accepted in hotels, shops and restaurants.  It is advisable to have more smaller US dollar notes for easy spending as locals prefer dollars.

ATM

ATMs are available in many places and accept cards from overseas banks such as MasterCard, Visa, Cirrus, Plus, Maestro.

Travellers cheques

Not widely accepted.

Banking hours

Mon-Fri: 0800-1500